Half Way There

“Don’t stay in Ireland too long, you’ll become Irish. Tell tale signs include jaywalking and drinking too much. If you do that you’re half way there.”

I suppose I’m half way there then, huh? It’s fine, though, it’s one of those “just let it happen” sort of things. I am pretty sure I was jaywalking like this second day I was here. You have to immerse yourself in the culture to make yourself feel at home here, right? You don’t want to be the only loner standing waiting for traffic. If there’s a large enough gap between cars, buses, and bicycles, and if you have good enough judgement, go for it. I’m not really one for drinking here, though. I only do it on special occasions, like Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, and Saturdays… and the occasional Sunday. Every day you’re alive and well is a special occasion in my eyes. But don’t worry, it doesn’t mean consecutively. You guys must think I’m an alcoholic or something if you thought that.

I’ve been here for quite some time now, long enough to have met a lot of amazing people that I hope to have lifelong friendships with. Ironically, though, my roommates and I have just met our next door neighbors in our apartment building just a couple of days ago. There’s a weird door in the wall dividing our apartments that we tried opening the first day here, when we learned it was locked. Eventually, we could here the toilet flushing that is apparently just on the other side of the wall adjacent to our living room/kitchen, so we knew there were people somewhere on the other side. We had just never met them. Until the other night as we were having a dudes’ night in our apartment, the door handle began to move and someone was clearly trying to come through. We all yelled to them; nothing in particular, just a bunch of obnoxious noise and the others yelled back. After some back and forth yelling through the wall, our neighbors invited us to go meet them and we did. It was just weird that none of us had ever seen each other before that point. They are a couple of really cool Irish guys who are awfully jealous that we have two couches in our apartment and they have just one.

Valentine’s Day was this week and it’s a pretty big deal here in Dublin. It’s even a big deal if you are Valentineless, like me. It’s almost surprising how many dateless people were out on Tuesday night. So many groups of ladies having a “Galentine’s” night and so many guys out, as well, including myself and five friends. Cheap drinks and no cover charge at Karma Stone Bar didn’t sound like an awfully bad idea. I bought myself a strawberry daiquiri to celebrate the love I have for life right now. By far one of the best ones I have ever had.

I know I have talked about my internship before but I just have to say, again, how much I enjoy it. My supervisors and coworkers are among the nicest people I have met here. The Dublin Chamber facilitates various networking events for businesses of all sizes throughout the year and rents out space in the office building for seminars and presentations, which are usually catered. And that means there is usually food involved. And that means there is usually food leftover. I just happened to be in the right place at the right time yesterday and ended up with four powdered-sugar-covered croissants that were leftover from a breakfast event. I was told to take all four upstairs to my office and offer them to my supervisor and coworkers and they just happened to deny the offer and, so, I just happened to enjoy all four of them in one sitting. #NoShame.

As much as I enjoy Ireland, I am ready to see more of Europe. I have a couple of places in mind for spontaneous adventures and I can’t wait to experience it all. In the wise words of someone wise, also known as St. Augustine;

“The world is a book and those who do not travel, read only one page.”

Until next week, peeps!

Leave a Reply

